Coffee Facts Friday

Scramble under your bed for the shoebox filed with agates and quartz and fossils because today is Old Rock Day.  Old Rock Day has been celebrated on January 7 for ages…rock of ages even.
Speaking of rocks, we salute legendary rock star Bill Haley and the Comets for starting the rock and roll movement with the classic Rock Around the Clock. Kick off your shoes—this is sock-hop time.
One, two, three o’clock, four o’clock rock
Five, six, seven o’clock, eight o’clock rock
Nine, ten, eleven o’clock, twelve o’clock rock
We’re gonna rock around the clock tonight.


Rock stars do drink coffee, so note the cup and saucer on top of Keith Richards’ luggage.

And some rock stars sing about coffee, like Bob Dylan and Carly Simon.

Bob Dylan croons

One more cup of coffee for the road    One more cup of coffee ‘fore I go   to the valley below

Carly Simon sings
I had some dreams, they were clouds in my coffee
Clouds in my coffee, and
You’re so vain…

http://www.carlysimon.com/vain/vain.html
http://www.bobdylan.com/#songs/

http://www.holidayinsights.com/moreholidays/

http://www.altiusdirectory.com/society/old-rock-day

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Coffee Facts Friday”

  1. Katharine Lehmkuhl Says:

    I always thought Carly Simon sang, “There were grounds in my coffee.” All there years I’ve been signing along to You’re so Vain at the top of my lungs, feeling cool, but signing the wrong words! You have to admit, “grounds” makes more sense in a coffee reference than “clouds”. The more I read Coffeesnobology, the more I learn.

  2. Lynn Says:

    Love it. Your comment was grounds for a good laugh. I agree grounds makes sense. Thanks for reading our blog.

Leave a Reply

