Coffee Facts Friday

Kudos Italians.  Italians gave the world espressos, cappuccinos and Bingo.  Yes, Bingo.  As told over a cup of coffee, Italians, as far back as the 1500s, spent afternoons playing a popular lotto game called beano.  Sipping their espressos, players covered numbers with beans, coffee beans I’m sure.  Beano’s popularity spread throughout the country and the world.
One day in the 1920s, Edwin S. Lowe, a New York toy salesman, stopped at a country carnival to watch enthusiastic participants play Beano.
Edwin didn’t need to be bonked on the head to realize that Beano could be a real moneymaker.  Soon his friends were playing the game at his apartment. One night, an avid Beano player needed only one more number to win.  Lois waited breathlessly, hovering over her card with her coffee bean in hand.   When Edwin called “Under the B…7”; Lois jumped up—and in her eagerness yelled “Bingo.”
And Bingo it became.
So that’s the story, more or less; Italians sipping espressos and cappuccinos using beans, coffee beans I’m sure, in a lotto game now called Bingo.
December is Bingo’s Birthday Month.

Celebrate as only coffee-loving-Bingo players can!
http://www.zanyholidays.com

Tags:

3 Responses to “Coffee Facts Friday”

  1. Katharine Lehmkuhl Says:

    I never knew that! I learn so much when I read Coffee Snobology. As an avid Bingo player I often sip coffee – who knew it was so “Italian!” I also win a lot, so maybe there is something to sipping my favorite brew while playing this Italian game. I’m going to keep the coffee habit and see what develops.

  2. Lynn Says:

    Good morning Katharine,
    Coffee brings one luck. Be sure to share this bit of CFF with the real Lois. If you wish to learn more about the history of Bingo, click on the site listed on the bottom of the post.

  3. Katharine Lehmkuhl Says:

    Santa’s List was very helpful. I especially enjoyed the link to consumer search. On that site I found a listing of top selling coffee pots which listed the pros and cons of each. It was very helpful. Also, (I continue to be amazed at how, each time I click on CoffeeSnobology I learn something new) I didn’t know there was a Specialty Coffee Association of America.

Leave a Reply

